Cloth Diaper Newbies & China Cheapies: Maman Loup Weighs In

Maman Loup Weighs in

Recently, my blogging buddy (her term… I am working on a combo of Blogger/Colleague but can’t decide if “Blogleague” will catch on or not) Suzi at Cloth Diaper Addicts posted about why she doesn’t recommend so-called “China Cheapies” to cloth diaper newbies.

Suzi has a gift for getting readers’ cloth diapers in a twist, yet her post is really just based on her own experience and a bit of research. She never says “Don’t buy China Cheapies,” nor “You’re the worst Mom ever for choosing China Cheapies,” but some definitely seemed to read it that way.

Her post got me to thinking. I share a lot of the same opinions as Suzi on China Cheapies: they have adorable prints but the quality is inconsistent, for example. I’ve also posted in the past about my beef with copyright-infringement and China Cheapies. I would add to the reason I don’t recommend China Cheapies the fact that some retailers have very sketchy business practices and because I’m skeptical of working conditions in some overseas factories.

I suppose my opinion on “China Cheapies” and Cloth Diaper Newbies is more like this:

Recommending China Cheapies from Co-Ops, Aliexpress, EBay, ShopDiaper.com or AlvaBaby.com Makes me Cringe.

Now, let’s make a few things clear: the vast majority of us own many, many cheaply-made products imported from China, myself included. Many “big-name” brands have manufacturing facilities in China: Funky Fluff, GroVia, gDiapers and Fuzzibunz, to name a few. These brands, however, base their business model on ethical and sustainable manufacturing practices and are very transparent about their overseas suppliers.

So, like Suzi, I know there are plenty of very satisfied Alva users out there (I’ve heard the worst comments from users of Coola Baby, if you’re curious!) and I also know plenty of parents who started the “cheapie” route, fell in love with cloth, and de-stashed their cheapies to buy other brands.

So, why do I till side with Suzi on calling out cheaply made cloth diapers? Because you’re not going to stop wearing shirts just because your $5 top from Target came apart at the seams. Because you’re not going to start bashing shoes because your flip flops from Walmart ripped. Because you’re not going to boycott toys because you’re son’s Dollarama action figure is out of commission.

What I want most of all in my fluffy little heart is for parents to be successful in their desire to cloth diaper. Someone who is already a bit skeptical and who immediately encounters issues is more likely to give up.

Are all China Cheapies destined to fail?

Not at all! In fact, the only diaper I’ve had to return for a manufacturing defect was an AppleCheeks. Bad batches of PUL fabric happen to all manufacturers, as do all sorts of other imperfections that might escape inspection on their way out to retailers.

The difference is that when an issue occurs with a brand like GroVia, AMP, AppleCheeks, Funky Fluff, Bummis, BumGenius or other “big name” brands, you have easy access to their customer service and to their warranties. Most have 1-800 numbers you can call for immediate support, and many have official Facebook groups where you have direct access to the company owners!

If you buy Alvas or other cheap brands from Shopdiaper, Ebay or Aliexpress  and they delaminate (again, not unique to China Cheapies) or you are having issues with your wash routine or getting the right fit, you’ve got a language barrier to contend with and a longer wait in the event that they agree to send you replacements. If you buy from a co-op and have issues, I’m not sure that you would have access to any product support or warranties.

According to Alva’s warranty policy (and I give them credit, it’s a very generous one!), you must return the diaper at your expense. This is not unusual, (AppleCheeks, however, refunds customers for the cheapest shipping amount) except that I am afraid to ask how much it would cost to mail a diaper to China. Note that there are some Canadian and US approved distributors of Alva diapers, and in my opinion, this is your best bet. You will be able to deal with the retailer from whom you purchased the diaper, and probably have better luck!

Are there any “Cheaper” brands I would recommend?

Actually, yes! Kawaii Diapers are made in China and distributed out of Richmond, BC. Their website lists all of their safety-testing certifications, but I admit that their care instructions FAQ could definitely use a bit of work. They also have one diaper package that I want you to avoid. Kawaiis were my first pocket diapers, and I was happy with the quality for the price.

They were a bit of a “gateway drug” towards other pocket brands, and I eventually sold my Kawaiis and bought BumGenius. That being said, I think they are on the higher end of the “cheapie” spectrum, and the fact that they are based in Canada means easier access to customer support and no risk of paying duty. I will be frank, however: if you hold a Kawaii in one hand and a BumGenius in the other, there will be no doubt as to which is a higher quality brand. This doesn’t mean Kawaiis won’t work for you, in fact, I bet they will!

Another brand I am comfortable recommending is Hip Huggers. Angela is a WAHM and her diapers are made in China. I’m a fan of the Hip Huggers Supreme model and have a review of it here. Her “Basic” model is very similar to an Alva. She offers very affordable starter stashes! What’s the difference, then, for a newbie buying from her rather than Ebay, ShopDiaper or AliExpress? The customer support and the guarantee! (In my opinion, well worth spending the extra couple dollars… plus those dollars go into the Canadian economy and to a WAHM.)

I have also heard good things about Sunbaby, endorsed by a Mama I trust, Regan at The Anti June Cleaver.

Cheapies I would steer clear of:

Considerations if you want to try out cloth on a budget:

I’m a bit afraid to ask… but… what are your thoughts on China Cheapies and cloth diapering on a budget? Do you know anyone who was totally turned off cloth due to a bad experience? (With ANY brand!)

 

22 thoughts on “Cloth Diaper Newbies & China Cheapies: Maman Loup Weighs In

  1. Baby City. That’s another one to avoid like the plague. I hear so many stories about that one delaminating on a regular basis. I do come across folks online that quit after a bad experience. 😦

    (But I’m so glad to be an inspiration for your blog! *muah*)

  2. I’ve been cloth diapering for a while and am a part of many cloth diapering groups and I’ve never heard of/encountered someone giving up on or being dissapointed in cloth diapers because of China made diapers. I do however know a lot of moms that are openly criticized in these cloth diaper groups, ashamed to talk about their stash or show off pictures of it, and generally thought of as “less than” because they use China made diapers. I understand why other brands are better, I almost exclusively use BG, there’s a big difference in quality between China made ones and bigger brands. But I really do think sometimes, maybe even a lot of the time, quality and customer service are just not as important to people as quantity and a good price. It just feels like it’s one more in a very long list of things that us mother’s are (unnecessarily) criticizing each other about.

    • Oh, that’s awful. While I’m not a fan of China Cheapies, no mother should EVER think that she’s less because she’s using them… and no mother should ever think that another mom is less for that reason, either.

      • I have been one of those moms. Maybe that is why I get so defensive. I have been told flat out that I must not care about the health of my child because I use them. I have 4 BG( one free time), one kawaii heavy wetter, two rumparooz( that I bought for very little at a consignment sale and made minor repairs), the rest of my 25 diapers are Alva and jctrade. Yes I also have prefolds and a couple covers. I can only use them when he is sick and I am staying home with him. Why? I have a child with sensory issues. He will not wear the prefolds because he hates to feel the wetness same goes with the fitted. Also no minky diapers. Alva and jctrade have been a life saver for me. They work and also he will tolerate them. I started out the cloth diapering because both my children are very sensitive to disposable anything. I use CDs and cloth wipes at home. Yes I have to use cheap baby washcloths also. My family is on a very tight budget. Almost all of my diapers I have bought through b/s/t groups. I have bought a couple of them through Alva baby because it was ones that Ds went crazy over. I love my children just as much as the next mom. I would do anything for them. And yes I have left or stop posting in a few groups because of this.

  3. Thank you Sarah.

    I have dealt personally with Alva customer service. It took one day and one picture sent by email to have a new diaper in the same print on its way to me. I did not have to send the diaper back to the company. And this was due to a very minor flaw that did not affect the performance of the diaper. Now do they work for everyone? No. Will that that stop me from saying they might try them? No. I say use what works for you.

    • Not meaning to be rude. Just thought since you mentioned their customer service that you might like a first hand account. They also have a lifetime warranty on the PUL.

      • I totally agree about the customer service! I see the customer service side of things listed as a “con” all the time when people talk about China made diapers ( side not: oh my goodness, I refuse to call them China cheapies! That name in itself is enough to make a mom feel like crap for using them), but all I’ve heard are good things from mom’s who have contacted these companies for problems with their diapers.

  4. I do agree with the baby city/ babyland diapers. Although the few I have had make great play diapers when stuffed with a prefolds or swim diapers. Just gave away 5 to a mom in need of swim diapers.

  5. If you really want to recommend prefolds to a newbie, tell them to check out the diaper services in the area. That is where I received my prefolds from. Some give away and some sell very cheap the diapers that they retire. Yes the ones I have are tie dyed but in good shape. Not to mention already prepped.

  6. Sarah I do think sometimes the label ” China cheapies” does set some moms into to defense mode. That is something that they work for and bought for their child. I know the name makes me cringe. I don’t think that is the intention of everyone that uses it.

    • It was not my intention. It’s simply a term that has been used to categorize diapers.

      You’re going to use what you’re going to use. I did not say that no one should use them ever. I said that I don’t recommend them to people new to cloth and why I do not recommend them. Period.

      • I did not say that was your intention but those were the two words that made your blog into a large post on a diaper group. Did I every say that no one should use anything other than Alva? No. I even stated that I own other brands. I even posted a comment on helping new cding moms get prefolds for little to no cost. All I ask is that people think about the back draft when using labels like China cheapies. That is my main objective to your blog. Yes you are entitled to post your opinions but if you do it on the internet you need to accept that not everyone is going to agree. I think we just need to agree to disagree. We are both moms trying to do the best we can for your children.

  7. My Alva’s have held up well, and actually fit better than some big name brands. I will recommend them, but I’m always sure to say that they probably will not last as long as the more expensive brands. For someone who doesn’t need diapers to last through multiple children, who are starting to CD late, or do have a limited budget the cheaper diapers can be great options. One cheaper brand I would steer people away from is Gigglelife. They are sold out of Waterloo, ON but manufactured in China. After less than a year I had elastics that were completely shot. They also deleted complaints on their fb page and will block those who do post complaints (ask me how I know).
    Yes, quality can be inconsistent in the cheaper diapers, but that applies to some of the more expensive brands too. More than half my stash is made of Bumgenius and I have definitely noticed quality issues with my newer ones compared to the older ones. (I could go on a huge rant about BGs though, so I shall stop here).

  8. I would not have started cloth diapering if it weren’t for my Alva diets being so inexpensive. They’ve worked great for my two in cloth and I’ve since added prefolds and covers as well as some fitteds. I wish people wouldn’t make cloth diapering so complicated or so much of a hot debate. Wo cares if I use a cloth diaper that’s made in China but works. I’m not using chemical paper diapers!

  9. The bulk of my stash is Kawaii baby, they were a baby shower gift from a friend. They are the ones I seem to be grabbing on a daily basis. Before my DD was born, I ordered some diapers off ebay- you get what you pay for. Babycity is horrible, they don’t snap up right and there always seems to be a flap falling down each side.

  10. Pingback: Top Guide Of Cheap Clothes For Men - Info Universe

  11. I would avoid Sunbaby, I was scared of pockets, so I wanted to try them cheaply. The “trimness” worked well for my very small guy until he turned 3 months old, and started peeing through them in an hour. Switched to bumgenious & a few flips, and love them.

Leave a comment